DEPARTMENT OF
HUMAN SERVICES

NURSING FACILITIES
RATES AND POLICY

m

COVID-19 Related, Waiver of SNSA Maximum
Charges Request Form for Medicaid Certified

Nursing Facilities

This Request Form applies to Minnesota licensed nursing facilities that are Medicaid certified. This
Request Form is required to be completed and approved PRIOR to contracting with a SNSA for payment
of nursing services that exceed the current maximum charges allowed in law, MS 144A.74:

SNSA Maximum Charges 2020

Statewide Maximum Allowed Charges
Effective January 1, 2020 — December 31, 2020

Statewide Maximum Allowed Holiday Charges
Effective January 1, 2020 — December 31, 2020

RN $57.65

RN $99.15

LPN $46.01 LPN $80.97
CNA $29.73 CNA $51.74
TMA $32.88 TMA $49.52

Information about the waiver

The waiver allows the State Emergency Operations Center (SEOC), in consultation with the Department
of Human Services (DHS) Nursing Home Rates and Policy Division, to set new maximum charge amounts
for supplemental nursing services agencies (SNSAs) on a case by case basis and must be consistent with
the State of Minnesota COVID Emergency Response. This waiver will be in place for the duration of the
peace-time emergency and up to 60 days past the end of the emergency.

Conditions for Accessing the SNSA Maximum Charge waiver:

The waiver is necessary to provide staff to work in nursing facilities that are serving residents with
COVID-19.

Is needed to stabilize an existing or an expected COVID-19 related staffing emergency. Once the
facility is COVID-19 free, should there be a need to pay an amount in excess of the maximum
charges, the nursing facility must contact DHS for an extended authorization.

The entire amount, less associated payroll taxes, in excess of the maximum charges must be paid
to the employee working in the nursing facility being charged as an increased hourly rate of pay,
shift differential, or overtime pay. The SNSA may charge the nursing facility for the employer
associated payroll taxes for the increased pay for the employee. An authorized representative
from the SNSA must sign the required Attestation Form that any amounts in excess of the
maximum charges that are permitted under this waiver will be paid to the applicable employee(s)
in addition to their regular wages. The purpose of this waiver is to increase the pay to the
frontline worker. This waiver is not intended to provide additional profit to staffing agencies and
the SNSA must agree not to profit from the increased fees permitted under this waiver. This
Attestation Form must be received by DHS before any application to waive the maximum charges
will be approved. The required Attestation Form is available at COVID-19: Nursing Facility
News / Minnesota Department of Human Services



https://mn.gov/dhs/partners-and-providers/news-initiatives-reports-workgroups/nursing-homes/covid-19-news.jsp
https://mn.gov/dhs/partners-and-providers/news-initiatives-reports-workgroups/nursing-homes/covid-19-news.jsp

e The amount in excess of the maximum charges must abide by the general cost principles
contained in Minnesota Statutes Sec. 256R.10 meaning the cost is ordinary, necessary, and
related to resident care. Per the Provider Reimbursement Manual 2102.2, it is the intent that
costs be reasonable, ordinary and what a prudent buyer would pay. It is the expectation that
nursing facilities seek to minimize costs and that actual costs do not exceed what a prudent and
cost- conscious buyer would pay for a given service. https://www.cms.gov/Regulations-and-
Guidance/Guidance/Manuals/Paper-Based-Manuals-ltems/CMS021929

e Under Minnesota Statutes 144A.70 to 144A.74, Registration of Supplemental Nursing Services
Agencies, the commissioner of health is responsible for the oversight of supplemental nursing
services agencies through annual unannounced surveys, complaint investigations, and other
actions necessary to ensure compliance with sections 144A.70 to 144A.74. Section 144A.72,
Subdivision 1, SNSA REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS, includes, in part, as a condition of
registration that the supplemental nursing services agency shall retain all records for five calendar
years. All records of the supplemental nursing services agency must be immediately available to
the department. These records may include SNSA payroll records, financial statements, and any
other documents necessary to ensure compliance with the requirement that the entire amount
in excess of the maximum charges is paid to the employee for which the Medicaid certified
nursing facility was charged.

e The amount billed to the nursing facility (and collected) during COVID may not exceed the
maximum charges without an approval letter from DHS.

e SNSA costs that exceed the maximum charges in law, that are in compliance with the criteria
specified in this document and are approved in response to the SNSA Waiver Request Form, are
eligible for reimbursement to the nursing facilities from DHS via the DHS Form A or FormB.

e SNSA costs that exceed the maximum charges in law which have not been approved and are not
passed directly through to the employee for which the nursing facility was charged are not
allowable on the DHS Form A nor Form B.

e SNSA costs in excess of the maximum allowable charges are not an “allowable cost” on the
Minnesota Nursing Facility Cost Report.

Required Information

1. Today’s date:
2. Facility information

a. Name of licensed Nursing Facility:
b. Street Address:
c. City/State/Zip:

d. Corporation, association, governmental unit, person or partners legally responsible for

the operation of this nursing facility:

e. Administrator name, email and phone number:
f.  Name of Individual Requesting Waiver, email and phone:

g. Requested Effective Date of Approval:

1 Form Ais the application template issued by DHS to MN Medicaid certified nursing facilities to claim reimbursement
for incremental costs associated with the COVID19 pandemic. https://nfportal.dhs.state.mn.us/


https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/256R.10
https://gcc01.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.cms.gov%2FRegulations-and-Guidance%2FGuidance%2FManuals%2FPaper-Based-Manuals-Items%2FCMS021929&data=02%7C01%7Cvalerie.cooke%40state.mn.us%7C5906fd6a35a0469c8e0c08d7f80274c0%7Ceb14b04624c445198f26b89c2159828c%7C0%7C0%7C637250561735981250&sdata=FXsF73%2FftiV2pSiEeaYuMa%2B6bvssTt7xIoAVcufstlQ%3D&reserved=0
https://gcc01.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.cms.gov%2FRegulations-and-Guidance%2FGuidance%2FManuals%2FPaper-Based-Manuals-Items%2FCMS021929&data=02%7C01%7Cvalerie.cooke%40state.mn.us%7C5906fd6a35a0469c8e0c08d7f80274c0%7Ceb14b04624c445198f26b89c2159828c%7C0%7C0%7C637250561735981250&sdata=FXsF73%2FftiV2pSiEeaYuMa%2B6bvssTt7xIoAVcufstlQ%3D&reserved=0

3. Name of SNSA with whom nursing facility has or will be contracting with for nursing personnel:

4. Is this SNSA on the MDH list of MN registered SNSAs? Circle one: yesOnoO

5. What is the total hourly rate the SNSA will be billing the nursing facility for during this
COVID waiver?
RN:
LPN:
CNA:

NOTE: A contract between the nursing facility and SNSA is required and must be made immediately
available to DHS upon request. The contract is expected to reflect the amounts listed above. These
hourly amounts must exclude all broker charges, vendor management fees, software or website use fees,
and per diems for lodging, travel, etc.

Please estimate how many of each type of nursing personnel and for how long the nursing personnel
will be needed.

In the space below, please describe the circumstances in your facility demonstrating the need for a
waiver due to an existing or expected staffing emergency:

Submission

Submit this form and the signed attestation from the SNSA along with any supporting documentation
to: Mary.Cahill@state.mn.us. If the requestor is not the facility administrator, please copy the facility’s
administrator on the email.

DHS and SEOC will review each Waiver of SNSA Maximum Charges Request Form and follow up
with the requestor and/or facility administrator as needed.

Notification of Approval or Denial of Request

DHS, in consultation with SEOC, will approve or deny the waiver request and notify the requestor
and facility administrator by email.


mailto:Mary.Cahill@state.mn.us.
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